Sur Ron 72v battery and controller upgrade options

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Sur Ron 72v battery and controller upgrade options

Hi, I'm new to the Sur Ron and forum and had a question I wanted to run by people who have more experience with ebikes. I have my Luna pre-order in and it should be coming to me in the next shipment, so I've been shopping for upgrades. The battery + controller is probably the one that I want to make sure I get right and have installed right after getting the Sur Ron.

I know a lot about 18650's and noticed that Lightspeed offers a Sony VTC cell option when buying a 72v battery. The Luna battery kit will likely include either LG, Samsung or Panasonic cells, which are still safe and great performing cells, but VTC's have always been the gold standard. There are a lot of fake VTC's out there as well, but let's assume they're real for argument's sake.

I understand the business decision behind why Luna isn't going with a Sony battery. They can be very difficult to obtain and I doubt Sony would ever sell them directly to a bike shop below retail. However I want to make sure I'm making the right decision for myself. I'm not as concerned with price as I am with long and short term trouble free performance in all seasons. I'd much rather spend my time having fun with my Sur Ron vs. dealing with issues or having to constantly fiddle with this or that.

So, for people with more experience using 18650 based solutions in an ebike, would you recommend waiting for Luna's kit or buying the ASI BAC4000 kit components (BAC4000, Lightspeed 72v, NXT, charger, connectors). I have no experience at all with the ASI kit, so I really don't know what to expect in terms of issues (i.e. - software bugs, fitment, etc).

Thanks