X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Questions for Understanding "Hot Rod Program (For Off Road Use Only)" BBSHD

I moved this to Questions.

I'm new to e-bikes.
    I brought this BBSHD kit a little time ago.
    And while its been fun putting the kit together, and riding,
    it appears its not been running at full potential.

Update::
    basically resolved this. Other than just looking for a copy of the hot rod programming. I purchased with the bbshd. Is it possible to get the profile to apply myself?
    It got erased i guess after using a off brand display from aliexpress.
    Last edited by SpaceyJohn; 11-17-2023, 07:46 AM.

If you have a mountain bike, a small chain ring would limit speed. Also , are you sure the speedometer is accurate.

Comment

Ya I have similar questions, what size tires? Did you set the wheel diameter? The max speed also set in most of the displays, which model display do you have? Its often in the advanced menu.

Comment

waste of time
        Last edited by stts; 03-24-2023, 03:34 PM.

Comment

this is basically resolved now i guess.
          Last edited by SpaceyJohn; 11-17-2023, 07:43 AM.

Comment

Need waaaaaay more information

Share everything even if you don't realize it may be important

Gearing, controller parameters, the display settings (the speed displayed can be way off and at best are just close)

40mph is overly-optimistic IMO... OTOH with proper gearing and controller settings no reason mid-30's can't be achieved albeit scary speed IMO - mine will go that fast but I find it very uncomfortable and it's going to drain the battery quickly and risks overheating things if maintained for any length of time

Recognize that the amount of power required roughly quadruples for 2x the speed

Mid-20's are more realistic top speeds for sustained riding... 30 doable but you won't get long from the battery, maybe forty-five minutes or even less

Comment

• SpaceyJohn
              SpaceyJohn commented