Newbie Shopping for First E-Bike / Questions on Motor Wattage

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Newbie Shopping for First E-Bike / Questions on Motor Wattage

Hey all. I'm a relative newbie shopping for my first e-bike. My research thus far has led me here, and to Luna Cycle for the place I'll likely buy my bike. I don't have the time or knowledge to go the fully DIY route. Maybe one day.

I'm heavily leaning toward purchasing the Luna GRIT 220 full bike offering from Luna Cycle: http://lunacycle.com/luna-grit-220-road-ebike/

Couple of questions? (I went through all post titles in this forum and didn't find the clarification I was looking for)

1. Not clear on what do do on the motor offering: "750w legal in all 50 states" or "BBSHD 1500w "
    • Are both these options the same BBSHD motor, just programmed differently? Or is it likely that the "750w" is a BBS02?
    • CA law - Does choosing the "BBSHD 1500w" option disqualify me from Type 3 status? Meaning it would be illegal on CA bike paths? OR, is it all about speed - If I keep it at 20MPH I am in the clear? I'm just unclear on the law and whether the higher "potential power" puts me in violation.
    • Bottom line is... I think I definitely want the BBSHD, and would love to have the "potential power" of the 1500w setup for off road, but I need this to be a primarily street-legal/bike path legal commute bike. If it's just a matter of monitoring my speed, I can handle that.
    Thoughts are much appreciated.

Dennis
    Last edited by dennybot; 10-22-2016, 11:32 AM.

I built all of my ebikes considering only the power that I wanted, with no regard for the law. I never use more than 2500W for my very heavy 280 lb rider + 90 lb ebike.

I commute every day in a CA city and the police have never even looked twice at my bike because I drive safely. You won't attract any attention unless you drive like a jerk.