Commuter bike set up

I would like to have an ebike to:

go to and from work: 16 miles one way

Carry 30+ lbs on bike rack + 180 lb me.

Go 30 mph

Be able to petal with a medium - fast speed cadence at 30 mph

​​​​​​Stop quickly

Be reliable

I would like a road bike but feel like I would get too many flat tires and would break spokes. What do you tbink

Should I get a mtb or a fat bike or road bike ebike

Should I get a luna kit bike or build my own?

My budget is 3k approx

​​​​

i would also be curious for an answer to this question

would a luna banana ludacrous with a big battery accomplish this?

im completely new to ebikes and am looking for similar things as coolo

Comment

> go to and from work: 16 miles one way

Depending on elevation, you'll need a big battery for the round trip. I'd recommend 17.5ah minimum.

> Carry 30+ lbs on bike rack + 180 lb me.

I run the Topeak Explorer, which is rated for 55 lbs, but slowly bends with <10lbs on it. So I don't have any good recommendations here.

> Go 30 mph

You'll need a BBSHD or Cyclone if you are going mid-drive.

> Be able to petal with a medium - fast speed cadence at 30 mph

Front chainring needs to be in the 40's for this to be remotely possible. ​​​​​​

> Stop quickly

Use disc brakes.

> Be reliable

Buy decent wheels and tires and you'll be fine.

> I would like a road bike but feel like I would get too many flat tires and would break spokes. What do you tbink

With 30lbs on the rear, plus a big battery, BBSHD, and your own body, I think you're right. If you buy a quality wheelset, you might be OK. I'll let commuter ebikes chime in on this one.

> Should I get a mtb or a fat bike or road bike ebike

This is a matter of preference, what do you think you will ride the most? I have several bikes, and I still struggle with this question like every day, lol.

> Should I get a luna kit bike or build my own?