Advice on hybrid donor bike for BBSHD

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Advice on hybrid donor bike for BBSHD

I'm new to the ebike world and looking to purchase a donor bike to combine with a BBSHD kit. The bike would be used for my 5 mile on-road commute.

My budget is ~$2,100 for the whole thing, which leaves me about $650 for the donor bike. I'm looking at purchasing one of these three hybrid bikes:
    Specialized Crosstrail Disc
    Trek Dual Sport 2
    Giant Roam 2

Any thoughts between these choices? I have test ridden the Specialized and Trek at my local bike shops, and gotten the (expected?) advice from the guys there that I shouldn't do a conversion on these bikes because they're not durable enough, will fall apart under the extra weight/power of the motor, etc.

Would be interested in any insight you all have on this, thanks.

Have you seen the Luna Roam 2 in your budget range? https://lunacycle.com/luna-giant-roam-2-road-bike/

I've become more and more impressed with Fat Tire eBikes powered by BBSHD's. Rigid frame running 4" tires seem to ride nicer on street than my nicely tuned FS (full suspension) mountain bike. Plus, it handles sand, loose dirt, gravel, grass or any soft surface like a champ.

Comment

Since you don't have a donor already and unless you are wanting to build it yourself, you might look at the Luna prebuilt bikes. You can get a great bike ready to go and still be in budget!

-Steve

Comment

I just picked up my Giant Roam 2 yesterday from Luna. If you pick it up at the store it is under $2000. I am very happy with it so far. I hit 32 MPH on a flat road! For this style of bike I think it makes more sense to buy the bike complete. I plan on building my own in the future after I get some experience with this one.

Comment