Looking for Insight and Wisdom - Cannondale Tandem 29er

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Looking for Insight and Wisdom - Cannondale Tandem 29er

Greetings Experts! I'm a newbie here looking for advice on converting my Cannondale Tandem 29er:

I've searched extensively and haven't been able to find anyone who has attempted an ebike conversion on this bike. Based upon what I have read, it seems a BBSHD would be the way to go, but I'm open to any and all suggestions. The bike has an eccentric front BB30, 68 mm width. I believe the rear BB is also BB30. My first inclination is to mount to the front BB, but I have seen them set up both ways. I've included views of both bottom brackets from the top down to capture the chainrings. FWIW, front dropout is 100 mm, rear is 145 mm. Frame is aluminum, bike weighs 39 pounds.
    Last edited by BigJim; 03-01-2018, 03:32 PM. Reason: Added Bottom Bracket Detail

The cranksets use Shimano hollow tech which will be a problem if you are trying reuse your crank arms and sprockets.

Comment

• BigJim
      BigJim commented
      Editing a comment
      Thanks Calfee20! You are right. I never realized this bike had such unique crank parts. I realized the spindles were essentially hollow, but I never gave it a thought until now. That said, I agree this adds another element of complexity to going mid-drive. Thanks for the insight and wisdom, that's why I came here.

We have seen only a few successful mid drive conversions of tandem bikes. I can't say it'll work especially with that shell, is that american-style eccentric? If so we have an adapter for it, if not then it may be more difficult to source.