Are E-Bikes worth it?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Are E-Bikes worth it?

Been thinking of purchasing an e-bike for about 6 months now. I currently bike 8 miles to work every day. My job is a postman so I then walk 10-15 miles a day then bike home 8 miles. In car my journey takes about 1 hour & isn't worth the stress in rush hour traffic. I enjoy biking and have always biked to work (my previous job was only 4 miles away, been a postie 6 months). I'm now 40 and biking that far, usually in a headwind, then all the walking is shattering me by the end of the week. Sooo, do e-bikes take out the effort, wind, hills etc. Or should I go for a twist 'n' go scooter. Looking at either the Carrera Crossfire or Vengeance as an entry using cycle to work scheme from Halfords. Unfortunately my local store doesn't do the 48hr trial. Any info appreciated, cheers.

I am a UPS driver, and I commute by ebike every day to work. I pretty much pedal just for show, and the commute is always 100% pure fun.

My commute is in heavy city traffic, so I just make sure to drive defensively. If I drive a car to work, it takes longer.

Comment

Definitely worth it. Low impact, and you put in as much or as little effort as you want. Headwinds are a fact of life here in coastal South Florida. I make the same speed in any conditions. The only hills here are overpasses but again no problems.BBSHD is extremely reliable. But if you use full power much you will become an expert at driveline repair and maintenance. For a commuter a Sturmey Archer 3 Speed IGH, and Wippermann 1 speed E bike chain is probably as good as it gets. A BBSHD can keep up with traffic from a stop light, and run 30mph if needed. It would be a nice warmup/cooldown for a walking job.
      I should add that I ahve zero experience with hub motors but that might be a good option for you. I converted a couple bikes I already owned.
      Last edited by Retrorockit; 05-01-2019, 05:13 AM.

Comment