Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Will an Luna Eclipse 42T fit?

Hello,

I have no experience with bikes and decided to buy one (my first!) and make it electric (I tested it once).

I just finished installing my BBSHD on my Trek Marlin 5, here are some of the issues I got (might help someone) :
    • Motor case was barely touching the swing arm : I found some BB spacer in a bike shop, now I have 1mm of space (you can see it on the photo)
    • BB is 73mm so I added some washers to add 5mm behind the mount plate : I drilled some nuts to use as washer and found 2 long M6 screw at my bike shop

As you can see, the chainring from Bafang is realllllllllly close to my swing arm (see photos).

I ordered an Eclipse 42T and now I wondered:
    Do you think the Eclipse 42T will fit considering it is smaller but deeper?
    Should I invest in a chainring spacer?

Right now, the bike is doing an awesome noise when in gear 1, I think it's caused by the chain being too tight and misaligned.
    Last question: do you think the eclipse will solve that?

Merci,

Your Omelette

I think the Eclipse will be approx. 8mm (5/16) smaller in radius, but 6mm (15/64) closer to the chain stay than that 46 tooth pie plate.

So, my guess is you'll need additional spacers (which defeats the point of the Eclipse). There's a write-up around here somewhere about dimpling the chain stay (wincing) - I'd go with a very mild dimple (if at all).

Maybe i't worth considering re-arranging the cassette gears, retaining the 1st gear, and losing 1-2 in the middle.
    Last edited by ncrkd; 10-30-2018, 01:01 PM.
    2nd build, 2018 Crust Scapegoat, BBS02 or BBSHD, Rohloff IGH
    3rd build, 2018 Crust Evasion step-thru, BBS02, Shimano Nexus INTER-3 IGH
    4th build, 2016 Salsa Marrakesh flatbar frameset, BBSHD, Alfine 8 IGH

Visit the forum knowledge base

Comment

Hi, Thanks for your answer.