Cell phone batteries

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Cell phone batteries

So first off I know a bit about electronics and batteries but I'm new to ebikes and I want to build one .Has anyone ever used cell phone batteries wired together. I see so many builds with the round laptop cells. But I have about 200 new blackberry 3.7v 1500mah up to 2200mah batteries and I have about 10 PlayBook batteries 3.7 4700mah batteries I acquired for free. Should I be looking at these as an option or no? Remember I'm new and have searched the last 2 days but all I've found online is people use a bunch of cell batteries to build 10000mah portable cell phone chargers .haha. Thank you for any feedback so I can either start planning this or put them all back in a box

Well, for one thing, all the cells in a pack should be matched, so they stay balanced while loaded, etc. You don't want different types, capacities or even ages, between the different parallel groups, or they behave differently during charging and discharging, and will tend to not be at equal voltage, which is more-or-less a requirement for series packs.

You could probably set them up in a pack and get some power if you did it right, but working with those drastically different size cells, in one pack, will most likely cause problems for you. Think about ways to make each parallel group identical if you can, that would help. IF you decide to try to mix cells in a pack, at least make each parallel group the same, and test them to make sure.

Please be aware this is a rather unsafe endeavor. I'm not recommending it, and the above is nowhere near enough info to do anything.

Please be careful if you DO experiment!
    Last edited by JPLabs; 1 week ago.
    Fabrication is fun! Build something today. Show someone. Let them help. Inspire and share. Spread the desire.

Comment