rear hub, internal gear options.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

rear hub, internal gear options.

I'm not sure which forum this should go in....

My son was riding my eBike, Motobecane 29+ with BBSHD, and somehow the chain derailed off the top of the cassette. Got stuck between the cassette and hub, locked up, and completely tore up the derailleur (SRAM X5). I do not know if the derailleur is even repairable. It's pretty bent up.

I'd like to know what options are out there for a complete transmission upgrade. I don't know a lot about bikes, but I seem to remember a couple options for completely removing the cassette/derailleur and putting on a hub with internal gearing.

Can anyone point me in the right direction for this?

Thanks,
    Kent

I have no personal experience with IGHs but lust after one for my Dolomite build. I find terrific info right here on the Knowledge Base and Articles Tabs of the forum.
    http://www.electricbike.com/mid-drive-kit-igh/

Comment

Currently, I am riding a Shimano Nexus 8 IGH with a BBSHD. I have had 150 trouble free miles, so far. I like it. Being able to shift into any gear at a stop is nice.

Comment

Originally posted by ocezam View Post
        I'm not sure which forum this should go in....

My son was riding my eBike, Motobecane 29+ with BBSHD, and somehow the chain derailed off the top of the cassette. Got stuck between the cassette and hub, locked up, and completely tore up the derailleur (SRAM X5). I do not know if the derailleur is even repairable. It's pretty bent up.

I'd like to know what options are out there for a complete transmission upgrade. I don't know a lot about bikes, but I seem to remember a couple options for completely removing the cassette/derailleur and putting on a hub with internal gearing.

Can anyone point me in the right direction for this?

Thanks,
        Kent