PAS Settings Help for Noob

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

PAS Settings Help for Noob

Had my first day of riding my new build and I am new to ebike said as well. I have the 1500 bbshd on a fatty hunting rig. So I don't know the terminology but while using pedal assist I found the cadence too fast for me which forced me to use my thumb throttle most of the day. Since I am riding dirt roads, fields and woods with some pretty good hills I want a slow cadence with a lot of assist, I'm not looking to break a sweat and burn calories and when PAS kicked in it would force me to too high cadence.

So I'd like pedal assist to kick in a bit sooner but with slower cadence but i don't know what to adjust.
    Last edited by Alaska_av8r; 11-16-2017, 06:36 PM.

https://electricbike.com/forum/forum...shd-mid-drives

Please check this link out

Comment

To get pedal assist to kick in faster you need the program cable and would adjust the Start Degree setting to something like 4.
      I adjust the Keep Current % to 90 on the Pedal Assist which I believe helps keep the cadence down.

Comment

Thank you I'll look into that I duo have the cable and loaded one of the presets, can't remember which one though

Comment

Thanks pax I already been through that link, I just don't know what to adjust to get the behavior I need

Comment

• calfee20
            calfee20 commented
            Editing a comment
            It sounds like your overall gearing is to low.

If the pedals try to spin too fast, use less power (lower PAS setting) or a higher gear.

Only if you are in top gear, already, would you need to actually change the overall gearing.

Are you running out of gears, is that what you mean? Top gear spins too fast, at too low a speed?

Are you in lowest PAS already, PAS 1? If you mean PAS 1 has too much power, or too much RPM when wound out, reduce the speed limit % for that PAS level.