BBS02 on Motobecane Elite Adventure

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

BBS02 on Motobecane Elite Adventure

Last month I built my first ebike, a BBS02-powered Motobecane Elite Adventure, and I just finished 500 miles on it. It's been awesome! I love that I can pedal as much or little as I want, keep up with 30mph traffic on roads, and let the motor take me up the big hill to get home. I can bike to work faster than I can drive at commute times with the motor boosting my speed and climbing the hills quickly.

Click image for larger version

Name:	Final Bike.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	462.3 KB
ID:	15066

I chose the Lunacycle BBS02 kit with a 52v 11.5ah Panasonic PF Shark battery, 52v Advanced Luna Charger, the DPC-14 full color display, and the 44t chainring.

I spent about $1,600 altogether - $400 for the bike, $1,100 for the kit, and about $100 in tools and accessories. It's my first build and took about four hours to get everything put together. The build was mostly straightforward but I ran into a few problems.

The Tools
    • A bottom bracket removal tool
    • A crank removal tool
    • A hex key set (2mm - 10mm)
    • A large wrench (for enough torque to remove the bottom bracket)
    • A Luna Wrench (I didn't have this, but it would've been much easier)
    • Screwdrivers (Phillips and Flat)
    • Mineral Oil (to slip the handlebar grips off and on, and to get the BBS02 axle through the bottom bracket)
    • Paper Towels
    • Loctite Blue (to keep the BBS02 secured)
    • Electrical Splice Connectors (to join the motor to the battery mount)
    • Heatshrink Tubing and heat source
    • Zip ties to secure cabling

A $40 Bikehand Tool Kit from Amazon contained the first three tools and will hopefully help with future maintenance.

Name:	Tools Required.jpg
Size:	306.3 KB
ID:	15067

The Build