No announcement yet.

2016 Montague Urban folding bike with 1000W BBSHD and 13.5 AH Luna Shark pack

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

2016 Montague Urban folding bike with 1000W BBSHD and 13.5 AH Luna Shark pack

PART ONE: WHY?

I've been riding my bicycle for many, many years. I used to do it recreationally, because I have cystic fibrosis and bicycling is a great way to clear the thick, sticky mucus from my lungs, but when I moved to Albany NY for college I began to use my bike to get around. I never really thought about building an ebike because the ones I saw at the stores in Albany and Utica were so expensive, underpowered, slow, and had such short range. Only after deciding on a folding bike and following through with the purchase and the research did I see somebody else built a full-sized, super-powered Montague Paratrooper folding bike. It was then that I knew an electric folding bike could be made at a reasonable price that could add meaningful miles to my range and make the steep hills of upstate NY a little more manageable. I'm writing this build report from a suburb of Nashville. I began the build in New York and completed it here in Tennessee.

Click image for larger version

Name:	elv_gm_750_electric_folding_bike.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	396.5 KB
ID:	15462
    This is what you'll typically find when you look for prebuilt electric folding bikes. It's cute, but there were a number of factors that turned me away: the batteries tended to be weak (~5 AH), the motors weak (~15 MPH), the tires too small (~20 inch), and the bike folds in the middle of the frame, which weakens the structure. Enter, Montague!

Name:	urban.jpg
Size:	125.7 KB
ID:	15463