Framed Alaskan Bluto X7 + BBSHD + Luna Mighty Mini 30Q = The Fat Bastard

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Framed Alaskan Bluto X7 + BBSHD + Luna Mighty Mini 30Q = The Fat Bastard

After a year of experimenting with 1970s enduro bikes and finding them finicky and generally awful, I decided to try and build an electric fat bike. I wanted a bike that I could ride on trails and roads in any kind of weather while I forage for wild mushrooms and explore western Massachusetts. I have no adult experience with bicycles but I work on my own cars and motorcycles, and figured the BBSHD install wouldn't be too challenging. I was right - it's a piece of cake on the Framed Alaskan Alloy X7 w/Bluto Fork. http://www.framedbikes.com/ak-alloy-sram-bluto/

I found the Fat Bike on craigslist for $700, and I spent about $1200 at Luna Cycle to turn it into The Fat Bastard.
    Click image for larger version

Name:	Brody-56-3.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	2.31 MB
ID:	16958

The bottom bracket on this bike is self-extracting, and no special crank puller was required to remove the Raceface Turbine crankset. I ordered the Luna Cycle BBSHD 120mm even though the bike has a 100mm BB. In retrospect, I wish I'd gotten the 100mm BBSHD so I didn't have to use so many spacers. The 120mm BBSHD works fine though.

One issue I had was that the BBSHD would not slide all the way through the bottom bracket. I determined that the issue was with the BB, and I dremeled down the high point with a grinding stone as shown here: Click image for larger version

Name:	Brody-8476.jpg
Size:	977.5 KB
ID:	16956

OK, it isn't pretty in there but it works. The BBSHD slid freely in now. I got an extra spacer kit and I'm glad I did - I used them all in this arrangement: Click image for larger version

Name:	Brody-8481.jpg
Size:	1.16 MB
ID:	16952