Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

DIY Build: 30-mile, 30 MPH Full-suspension Daily Driver (BBSHD + 2011 Focus Superbud)

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

DIY Build: 30-mile, 30 MPH Full-suspension Daily Driver (BBSHD + 2011 Focus Superbud)

Hello, I've been lurking here for a while but this is my first post. After several friends and family kept asking about the bike I built, I decided to post here in hopes that it would not only help them, but this amazing community of DIY builders as well. Before we get into the details, here's a quick picture of the final product.

Background
    I’ve been commuting 13 miles to and from work for about three years. While it’s great exercise, it can take over an hour with traffic lights, showering, changing clothes, etc. I noticed myself driving more to try to save time or give my body a rest, but driving in Silicon Valley rush hour traffic is rarely much faster than cycling, and I always get to work feeling a little grumpy that I missed the time outdoors and the feeling of freedom that a bike gives me.

I was considering small scooters or motorcycles, but didn't want another gasoline-powered vehicle, and wanted to avoid insurance and registration fees. Recently, a coworker opened my eyes to the world of electric bikes. I figured that with the power and speed of an electric bike, I could keep up with the flow of car traffic and hit more green lights, wear regular clothes, and avoid arriving at the office a sweaty mess. After looking at a few commercially available e-bikes, I discovered Luna Cycle and decided to go the DIY route so I could get more power, a better battery, and build the bike exactly how I wanted—all for less than an off-the-rack e-bike.

Criteria
    For the bike to become a convenient, reliable, and safe daily driver, I wanted something with the following features: