Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

SIKK Fat Tire Cruiser with Bafrang BBSHD - Planning

Hello everyone!

I'm a total newb to all of this. I'm a web developer who tinkers with Arduino, and in the process of outfitting my SIKK multi-speed fat tire cruiser with hundreds of multicolored lights controlled with Arduino, different modes include sound-reactive and pre-programmed sequences with randomized logic.

I live in Boulder, CO where we have the Happy Thursday Night Cruise. People deck their bikes out in lights, wear costumes, and tool around town in a what's basically a big rolling party. There are different themes. This week is Vikings. The best, and most popular one, is the lingerie ride in August. Visit then.

I got the bike last December for $499 shipped, multi-speed, with the green wheels. Shortly afterwards I got a Flashforge Creator Pro 3D printer so I could start making the custom pieces I want for it. And although I need to re-print them in ABS plastic that won't deform in the sun like PLA will, I was able to design and print out custom fenders by gluing pieces together. For the printer I have black filament and a bright green filament that matches the bike's fluorescent green. NinjaFlex makes a flexible version of this same green, and while I haven't played with it yet, it would be perfect for making custom handlebar grips.

SIKK Fat Tire Cruisers:
    http://www.fattirebikes.com/mens-fat-tire-cruisers.html

So I've got this bike, all these electronics, and I'm using a deep purple flexible filament to print customs mounts that hold light strips. The front fork is done with 98 RGBW lights installed, wired, tested, and connected to a little 3-pin JST connector waiting for the electronics. Ultraviolet light makes the green on this bike really light up, so I ordered a 12v UV LED strip, printed black half-circle pieces that bolt together over the hub, hold 8xAA, have a small switch, and are encircled by the UV strip. Those are also done.