Final thoughts before ordering Bbshd x2

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Final thoughts before ordering Bbshd x2

I want to start this out by saying I have zero experience about building bikes in general and all the little knowledge I have pieced together in last two weeks. :)

So I'm building a bike for me and my gf. Surly moonlander and Surly wednesday. I'm ordering the parts from Em3ev. I might how ever order the batteries from a local shop which uses 21700 cells instead of the 18650. This is because they give 2 year warranty and em3ev jumbo shark is prolly not gonna fit to s-size wednesday and their next biggest battery is only 11ah and i would like to get bit more than this. Thoughts?

Moonlander build:

The chainstay on The drive side takes a very steep turn from the bb and I will need the 120mm version of Bbshd. Im worried that the chainline will be off. Is there something I could put behind the rear cassette so there would be a small gap between the spokes and the cassette? Also, I think I'm gonna order the dnp 8-speed cassette from the same place. Could someone maybe suggest a shifter and derailleur for it?

Wednesday build:

This one seems easier looking at the experiences someone had building this. But someone says it needs a 120mm motor and someone says 100m is enough.

This one has a shimano 9speed cassette which I'm gonna use as long at it lasts.

Also what accessories do you guys think are good to have. I was initially thinking I would not order the lekkie crank arms, but reading that they really help with the q-factor I'm leaning towards buying those.

If someone read the whole thing, thank you. And if you have some answers to my questions, that would be awesome. :)

Local is good for the batteries. Faster cheaper shipping and should be no extra taxes or handling fees which often occur when shipping 'hazardous' materials. Even better if the local shop has more or custom fit options and a better warranty.