Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

High volume/balloon tires for 29x 2.7" (inner) wheelser)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

High volume/balloon tires for 29x 2.7" (inner) wheelser)

Hello. I am looking for a high volume/balloon tire. Wheels are 28/29x2.7" inner width. I prefer something for the street, so something like the 3.25 vee bulldozer is out. I wish continental made a wider version of the retro ride, because the profile is exactly what I want. I have considered the vee speedster 2.8, super moto 2.6 but what else would you suggest I look at?
    Attached Files

Have you looked at Schwalbe? They are good tires and have a pretty good range especially on road touring side of things.

Another one that may fit your needs is the Surly Extra Terrestrial. Also comes in the slate wall which could maybe work for your look? I have been running them for a couple years on my street bike. Before those I was running Schwalbe Big Apples which were great unless you ran into some sand or even wet grass. I originally intended to run the ET's in that spring and fall transitional period where studded tires were not required but still good chances of muck. There is just enough tread that if you get on the edge or sink a bit there is some grip but the center tread blocks are short enough and close enough together that its a smooth and reasonably quiet ride so except when I need the ice studs those are now my main tire.

Comment