Increasing torque on Riverside 520e ?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Increasing torque on Riverside 520e ?

Hi all- first post here. Really struggling to find any insight online.

I’m new to tinkering with ebikes, but I want to give this bike more assist when going up hill.

I dont really care about speed, just live in a hilly area. A little speed boost would be nice, but only up to like 20mph. Not essential.

I know a mid drive would help on hills more if sticking to 250w. But I can get a good deal on this specific bike, so wondering if I can just swap the rear motor for a more powerful one (still something under 450w) or if swapping the controller would let that 250 work harder, and have a better time on inclines. Or can I edit the wheel rotation size on the controller somehow?

Or maybe I’m muddle somewhere. As I said - new to ebike tinkering.

How would you go about increasing torque on this thing? Controller? Rear hub motor upgrade (Bafang kit?)… would the battery need swapping too?

Bike specs:
    Shop 70+ sports in-store & online, free shipping on select in-app purchases. Free click & collect. 2-year Decathlon product warranty. Members…

For a hubmotor bike I would go to Grin Technology. You'll get actual engineers there, not just parts vendors.

Their prices are in $ CAD so some factoring is needed there.
    Right off the bat I would say a higher Voltage battery, and some Statorade fluid for cooling. But there may be a software hack that will free it up also.
    Last edited by Retrorockit; 04-19-2024, 03:47 AM.

Comment

Thanks, will check them out.

I’m also wondering if id be better off sourcing a non electric bike (secondhand or new), and converting it with a kit to get the desired torque.