Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

First Build Suggestions

Hello everyone,

I am an amateur tinkerer looking to put together a hardtail ebike and seeking suggestions.

I have experience fixing riding motorcycles, including offroad and have been commuting to work by bicycle, enjoyably for the last 8 months. I recently bought a lightly used Trek X-Caliber 7 29er hardtail which I purchased with the idea to convert, but I keep having second thoughts.

Requirements

I generally reach speeds of just over 40kph on my commute by my own power. It would be nice to have some assistance on longer rides or when I don't want to get sweaty but I certainly don't need it.

I would really like to get into technical mountain-biking and move away from motorcycling for a while. Looking for less risk, time and fuss than offroad motorcycling and something where I can practice in an empty hilly park.

I would like a system which is usable off road including up steep hills (say, 30 degrees). I intend to contribute leg power to get more momentum rather than relying on the motor.

I also don't want the system to be too intrusive when not using electrical assistance as there will be times when this is overkill for commuting. I would probably use the engine on a low level PAS while commuting to offset the weight of the motor and to require me to work hard. I am thinking that I could possibly use this for bikepacking on a low PAS too (?)

Since this will be arguably part "toy", cost and reliability are also relevant factors.

Engine Choice

My first choice is the BBS02 750W from Luna Mate. This costs $658 AUD. I have also considered the Cyclone 3000w which is pretty much unobtainable or would require exorbitant shipping.

While the BBSHD would also work, this is dearer ($955 AUD), heavier and I'd imagine it would require a better battery to use anyway.

Chainring

Of the stock sizes I would probably go with the 42t

Battery

This would be the next big choice.