Noob here - some quick questions ;)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Noob here - some quick questions ;)

Hi, I'm totally new to ebikes and thinking about putting a hub motor on my girlfriend's bike, as she has to put a lot of miles in for school and work over the next 8 months. I already picked up a bosch powerpack 500 (frame model) as a strange start. It was very cheap, and I figured I'd use it somehow; buy a used bike missing the battery cheap or rig it to a hub dynamo.
    So, first question: is it at all possible or difficult to get a mount for the bosch powerpack battery and use it with a hub motor? Are the voltages and whatnot often or ever compatible between various brands/bits?
    What's the best hub motor to get? Front of rear? Geared vs not? Brand/model(s)? I don't mind spending money for quality.
    Is there any issue with having 8 speed cassettes with a rear motor? Read one bit saying 7 was sometimes the limit.
    How do these hub motors feel? They're just a single speed right? I read they're not hot on hills, but are they all-around pretty nice to use? I've only ever tried a midbike ebike, for 1 minute, so I'm clueless.
    She'd be using it on flat terrain commuting mostly, though we do some touring too, including alpine action. She has a 28" uprightish hybrid european kind of bike.
    How's the longevity of the midbike motors? If I ended up buying a whole bike. Why on earth do they make the gears out of plastic?
    Thanks, I'm reading away, but thought I'd pick some brains to save time too. ;)
    Last edited by siltsunrise; 09-30-2018, 06:56 AM.

I'm not sure if I'm understanding your post quite right. Probably not.

A dynamo wheel-hub is an alternating-current generator. Most are rated at 6V output, and capacities range from 2 to 3 watts typically. These are used to provide a power-source for bicycle lights, which are designed to be compatible with hub-dynamos.