Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Compatibility issues going from a 9-speed to a 7-speed?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Compatibility issues going from a 9-speed to a 7-speed?

Hi,

I'm new to e-bikes and I'm trying to build my own. I'm wondering if there are any compatibility issues going from a 9-speed bike to a 7-speed rear wheel.

Thank you,
    Michael

9 speed chains are a bit narrower than 7/8 speed chains and spacing between rear cogs is closer on 9 speeds so...
    if you want good indexing on the 7 speed setup you might want to replace the rear shifter and chain with proper 7 speed units. I’m thinking the chainrings you have up front probably can be used without a problem.

Comment

+1

9 and 7 speed are entirely different drivelines but that doesn't mean you can't switch, just that everything needs to change - derailleur, chain and shifter for sure, chainring maybe

OTOH you may be able to limit your 9-speed to only 7 gears using all the existing components - that's super easy enough to try

Comment

Ah i see, perhaps it'd be easier to get a 9-speed even if it is a bit more expensive. Do you guys have any recommendations for any 27.5" 9-speed rear wheel drive motors? Budget is around 450$ for everything else besides the battery.

I found this one: but the seller seems a bit sketchy from the reviews. Any advice would be appreciated! Thank you!
        https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...5A7XJSKH&psc=1

Comment

If you are doing a DDH rear hub motor you may find room a problem. Mine came with a crappy 7 speed cluster and I couldn’t get it to fit in my triangle with all 7 gears working. Found a nice 6 speed Shimano cluster from l.b.s. And it works pretty well...wish they still made the old 14-28 5 speed units. Some days I only use one gear. When you consider that even a little 500 watt motor can sustain 5times more than a strong human peddler you can see real fine tuning of gearing is a bit unnecessary.

Comment

• AZguy