Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

<$100 "hobby" digitally controlled soldering station, Hakko FX-888D, is it any good?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

<$100 "hobby" digitally controlled soldering station, Hakko FX-888D, is it any good?

Click image for larger version  Name:	fx888d-23by_1.jpg Views:	1 Size:	1.17 MB ID:	77063

I bought one of these [new] locally for <US$90 about a year and a half ago. I do a lot of soldering these days for my customers. It's mostly extremely small stuff and mostly using my customer's very high-end stuff (including microscopes). I've been doing plenty for about five decades. I don't do much around the home office, but enough that I decided to upgrade and buy something that would do the micro-SMD and also the large RF connectors I handle. Oh and of course e-bike stuff =]

I've gotten time enough on it to feel comfortable recommending it: https://www.hakkousa.com/products/so...g-station.html

It's a 70W unit and comes in a fisher-price blue and yellow color scheme. I understand they make a more subdued adult-themed color but it's not available anywhere I could find - overseas may be different. It has a digital readout and control. There are 29 different tips available for it and they are a very reasonable at $5 for most, $6 was the most expensive one I got for the micro work (it has a tiny little 0.125mm tip). On the large side I got a 3.2mm chisel and they offer a 5.2mm. I ended up with about five or six tips but for most folks two or three would likely be enough.

The stand has both a little sponge and a wire ball (think steel pot scrubber) for tip cleaning. Use the sponge unless it's stubbornly gummed up (or you forgot to wet the sponge =] ).

Setting the controls was not very easy - very convoluted "menu" but once setup it's very easy to use and after the initial setup and some minor tweaking, I haven't had cause to fiddle. I'd say this is the greatest foible.