Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Noise from rear cassette when bike is pushed backwards with BBSHD, is this normal?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Noise from rear cassette when bike is pushed backwards with BBSHD, is this normal?

Hi I'm pretty new to mid drive motors and I have a question that I'm sure is easy to answer for those who have been around these motors a while longer. I am building a 7 speed Fat Bike with the BBSHD and I have started the install. I have noticed that when I push the bike backwards it makes my rear cassette click and generally make noise. My chain line although not perfect doesn't seem to be the cause, is this just happening because of the resistance the motor has when rotated backwards? When going forward things are normal. Any thoughts, Thanks

very common, personally wouldn't worry. forward noise needs to be addressed.

Comment

I think there is a clutch in there that you might be hearing. Take a look at the internals. Mine does the same.

Comment

Thanks for asking the question, I noticed the same but didn't question it because my drive works so well. It could be something internal such as the clutch, definitely would need to be answered by someone who has had these drives open and understands the nuances. I noticed pushing it slower is rougher than pushing it fast.

Comment

Thanks for the responses, I haven't had a chance to get my bike out for a good ride yet but if all goes well after test riding, it sounds like I can just assume the noise is normal for this drive. I to noticed that pushing it slower seems to be rougher than pushing it fast. Thanks again!

Comment

Originally posted by Madman Ebikes View Post
            very common, personally wouldn't worry. forward noise needs to be addressed.
            Just joined the forum, I've just completed my first bbshd build.