Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Is it possible to add throttle functionality on the European BBS01?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Is it possible to add throttle functionality on the European BBS01?

Hello there, as I (alas) currently reside outside of the US, I am stuck with German bikes equipped with Euro-spec 250 W motors which have a "push assist" instead of the "throttle assist" feature. In other words, European bureaucracy went so far as to forbid all E-bikes with the throttle-on-demand grip provided one does not want to buy a special insurance and has his/her bike treated like a car. I am a newbie in the E-bike DIY world so I was wondering then if it is possible:
    - to buy a bicycle with European BBS01 Bafang motor and then hook up a throttle switch on it? Does anybody know what I have to buy to this end? Only throttle twist or special cables or anything else?
    - to replace the display I will get with a pre-assembled bike with the newest sexy Bafang DPC-14 display sold by Luna?

The funny thing is that European Bafang motors are still equipped with a simple thumb-throttle similar to ones sold by Luna, but they work like on/off switches for the "push-assist" function (up to 6 km/h). Therefore I hope there should be a way how to boost it. I really need a normal American throttle feature because of the health issues. It is the only way to stay active after a surgery.

Thank you for any help!

Hypothetically you could put a BBS02 controller onto that BBS01 which would do the trick. You can use throttle, dpc14, all that.
    Works as long as you reduce max amps to 18A. To do this you need to buy the programming cable. Reprogramming is easier with this custom written Bafang Configuration Software

Comment

Originally posted by paxtana View Post
      Hypothetically you could put a BBS02 controller onto that BBS01 which would do the trick. You can use throttle, dpc14, all that.