Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Swapping out a BBS01B controller for a BBS02B?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Swapping out a BBS01B controller for a BBS02B?

Hi,

Newbie here. And new to ebikes...

Can anyone let me know if the BBS02B 750w 48v controller will straight fit the BBS01B 250w unit and operate as if it were an BBS02B 750w motor? So then apart from the controller, I'm assuming the motor windings and everything else in the BBS02B is the same as the BBS01B?

If yes, I want to buy a BBS01B 250w model and then replace the controller for a BBS02B 750w one so I can use more amps with a 48v battery - torque, power and range in a 250w case effectively. The idea is to reprogram the controller back and forth so I can stay legal on UK roads but have the ability to run the bike off road using a bit more ommph. You all I 'm sure get the picture...

If there is another way, do say.

Thanks

Rob

Regarding above, failing that and I can't swap over controllers, how else could I get more amps, power and range from a BBS01B 250w 15amp?

Thanks again.

Comment

I don't think a swap is possible but you may be able to reprogram the 01B and change the current settings.

Comment

If the BBS02 controller won't fit, you can still add your own controller of choice to any motor. It's still just a brushless motor. You could gut the stock controller cover, run new wiring, and hide the new controller external to the motor, someplace. If you can find a replacement controller small enough, you may fit it inside.

That said, from what I quickly read, the BBS01 is a physically smaller motor with a narrower stator and less ability to shed heat, compared to BBS02 family. It won't tolerate the same power levels you can push through a BBSO2, then. If you hot rod it with more amps, I'm sure you can push it harder than stock if you want to, but you'd have to be careful not to melt it, in other words.