Cyclone 3000w with a front load cargo trike

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Cyclone 3000w with a front load cargo trike

Ok so I'm a conversion noob, I wanna pair the cyclone 3000w with a front loading cargo trike and 52v 20ah battery (both in the mail), what do I need to know? I'm down to have a shop install the kit but I'm not sure if there's special parts I will need or other things I will need to consider. Ultimately I don't want a coaster brake and also I want to be able to use a throttle. Thank you!
    Front load cargo trike with coaster brake

Looks like a great project! I rode one like this around as a kid and it was a hoot. Kind of seems like your biggest issues will be with your bike not the Cyclone. If it were me...

1. I would remove the rear wheel entirely and figure out some way to give it gears and a disc brake. Probably a good place to look for a solution would be a place that sells higher-performance trikes? Sturmey-Archer IGH? Don't know the answer. You can't have a coaster brake on a Cyclone and live to tell about it.

2. Front brakes. You need good ones. Again... trike shops have solutions I would think and it may involve pulling the wheels and replacing. I would want hydraulics actuated by one lever for both wheels or similar. Has to be a way to do that.

3. Cyclone installation: Looks straightforward but that completely depends on the bottom bracket, which is not visible.

Entirely possible a cargo trike is in your future just not this one.

Also... charge your cell phone battery will ya?

Comment

I'm building something similar, in some ways. I will document a lot of what I've done on another thread.