Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

help explain why when battery is switched off it reads 44.5V?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

help explain why when battery is switched off it reads 44.5V?

hi, total beginner here so bear with me if this is obvious. I'm putting together my bike and I noticed that when my new Luna 48V bottle battery is switched off, it reads 44.5V, and when switched on, it reads about 49V (I just got it Monday -- haven't charged it yet). I'm curious how this relates to the function of the switch?

The reason I ask is because I'm planning to hardwire the motor power to the contacts in the battery cradle (to keep things tidy and more simple), thinking that if the battery is switched off then there wouldn't be any problems with sparking when putting the battery on the cradle. However if the battery still has volts at the contacts when the switch is off maybe that won't work? Thanks for any pointers.

edit a couple days later: for any newbie like me who may be curious, there was no problem with sparking with the battery switched off when putting it in the cradle.
    Last edited by wakyct; 12-09-2017, 09:47 PM.

If it’s a MOSFET switched output what you’re seeing is “float voltage”. Try connecting to the motor controller and then measure the voltage OFF while connected to the controller. Even the slightest load voltage should drop to nearly 0V in OFF position.

Comment

Thanks, so I take it the MOSFET is in the BMS? Doing further reading I saw a couple references that on bottle batteries the switch typically switches the BMS which would make sense.

Comment