GT Avalanche mountain bike conversion suggestions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

GT Avalanche mountain bike conversion suggestions

I purchased a new GT Avalanche 29" mountain bike with a 21" frame for my tall guy size. My original plan of using a donor fat tire bike with Bafang BBSHD motor and battery fell through due to incompatibility (120mm motor). I am totally new to this and am looking for the best matching of components. I am planning on buying from Luna for reliability reasons unless others have better suggestions (ie more affordable and still reliable).

My current take is to buy the BBSHD and a 52V 21ah battery (bigger is better?) for off-road mountain trail riding. My bike has hydraulic disc brakes and I would like to get a brake cut-off for it but am not sure what is needed. The biggest complaint with the bike as is from what I have read is the chain snaps during normal riding, so I will have to upgrade to a stronger chain and possibly sprockets as well. Any and all suggestions are welcome!

I did not look close at the Avalanche's last time I was in a store, I was looking at the Aggressor because that was the one in my friends price range but at at a glance it looked like a decent bike. I don't remember if I looked at the bottom bracket area thinking about clearance for a BBSHD or not. The 3x drive and not especially fat tires are usually good signs as far as fitting a kit.