Shimano Nexus or Alfine 8

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Shimano Nexus or Alfine 8

Going to a 8 speed IGH of the Shimano Nexus or Alfine flavor has been a bucket list idea for my commuter bike. Any experience here running those at BBS02 power levels?

Futzing with the rear derailluer this week got me to thinking about an IGH again.

I could see that being a nice choice.. I have some experience over the past few years with those hubs ... although reliable, they really want to have precise cable pull to shift correctly.. not a huge deal with pedal only, but if you start missing shifts with an extra 1 1/2 hp, I could see problems in a big hurry and destroying a nice hub... if it were me, I'd get a Di2 compatible Alfine .. a few bucks more, but extremely precise shifting which is not mucked up with twist shifters (or paddle shifters) and long cable runs.. beyond that, you probably won't need 8 speeds with the BBS02, but it would be nice to have if you needed to pedal the bike un-assisted...

Comment

For the BBS02 using its stock power levels (1000W-1200W) with no attempts at popping a wheelie...either one is an excellent choice. Since I was a child I had a love affair with internally geared hubs (IGH's). The Alfine uses roller-clutches, so when you are just rolling along, it will be near silent. The Nexus branded IGH's use common pawls, so they have the common clicking noise found when using pawls.

Comment

Hello I'm new.

There is also a Nexus 8 Inter premium which uses needle bearings it is slightly better than the Alfine in testing. There is also a Di2 version of the Nexus 8 Inter.

Comment

Necroposting an update to this thread...

Well, the time has come. I'm going to go for it and make the change to an IGH. ​I think I'll take all the change from the coach cushions and spring for an 11-speed Alfine unit. I think I'll stick with traditional cable shift and stay away from the new fangled Di2 electric control.