1st project, Tools needed questions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

1st project, Tools needed questions

I'm about to order a BBSHD kit for an 2005 Gary Fisher Big Sur Disk bike. I'm hoping to do the install in one session so I'd need to have all the necessary tools standing by. My only concern is the bottom bracket.

if I buy the Luna wrench along with the Luna tookit do I still need the Bafang tools for the install? I have a full complement of regular, not bike tools, I'm an auto repair technician.

Oh, the bottom bracket on my bike is an ISIS Gigapipe, apparently.

Is there anything else I might need?

Thanks in advance,

George

I believe the Luna wrench performs the same job as the Bafang tool.

Luna kit is very complete and better than a SunLite bicycle tool kit I purchased years ago. Luna kit includes a bottom bracket removal tool which is very important item needed to remove BBs (bottom brackets). Plus all the other stuff will be much appreciated.

I’m an old Diesel mechanic and I didn’t have any special “bicycle” tools. Sure, I have wrenches, sockets, Allens, etc. But if you ride much you’ll need chain breakers, Freewheel/Cassette removal tools, chain whip, cone spanners, etc.

I dunno your bike and I’ve heard about “press fit” BBs out there? Maybe throw up a photo of the BB/Crankset to confirm if there’s anything there which might derail your plans? I doubt it but in the interest of being thorough....

Comment

I was an auto mechanic all of my life. Every time I changed the make of car I was working on, VW, Toyota, Honda, Mercedes and more I needed to buy more tools It is no different with Bikes.

I had to get
      a bottom bracket tool
      a freewheel tool
      a crank arm puller, you may have something in your toolbox but it may damage the arms.
      a chain whip and a cassette tool, I made a chain whip and it worked but I ended up buying one.
      a VERY thin 15mm open end for pedals is nice