Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Building a adult “kickbike” “kickscooter” with only China parts. (Total noob)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Building a adult “kickbike” “kickscooter” with only China parts. (Total noob)

hi all. New to this forum, and I’ve tried using search to find similar builds, but either I’m using the wrong search words, or it’s just not to many done this kind of builds..(?)

my my dream is to build a adult big “stand up kickbike” using cheap Chinese parts.
    I’m new to ebikes, but I’ve done a lot of diy rc builds (mostly drones), so I do have some basic understanding of lipo, brushless motors, esc and so on.

So first of all, if anyone have the correct name for this kind of “bikes” in English so I can do a better search pleas let me know (English is NOT my native language, coming from Norway).

i’ve found a frame I like, and thinking to use a hub motor on the back wheel, because I think this would give me most torque. I’m a heavy dude, and need torque before speed.
    I’m hoping to build something that have decent range (event with my weight), and does around 20 km/t (about 13mph).

So I’m starting on bare ground, so any tip in what I’m should be looking for when it comes to motors, Watts, voltage and so on would be highly welcome!

Can’t help you much with hub motors because I have no personal experience with them. I did put a MY1018 450W/36V motor on a Niner Jet 9 setup as a single speed and I was able to get about 30 miles of range with a 36V 16Ah/576Wh 10S5P with BMS made up of Samsung 3200mAh Li-Ion 18650 Cell battery pack assisting with pedalling from stops, then using the throttle only at about 20mph. I weigh 230lbs.

I have seen some nice looking billet alloy rear hub motor rims that might look and work well on a kick bike. If I can find them I will post up.

eBay has nice LED display twist throttles with ignition switch on/off that I just bought for that 36V setup from China cheap.