Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Getting the most out of 200 watts - Geared hub vs Mid drive

Hello,

I am totally new to ebiking, I have never ridden one but I am looking at putting together an ebike from my Gitane Mach 1400 road type bike

In Australia the power limit is 200 watts so I am hoping for advice on the best kit to buy to get the most out of this limit.

I have been looking at a 200w planetary geared hub motor available in Australia for about $440 (not including battery) but also I am looking at mid drive motors such as the Cyclone ones. If the motor cuts out with the mid drive kits can I disengage the motor from the chain, or do I have to peddle the motor as well? Do the mid drive kits have to move the peddles around whenever the motor is on?

I live in an area with some light hills (Reynella, SA), one of the places I wanted to ride to has a return trip going up a slope on a bike track along side a freeway, I haven't measured the gradient but it wouldn't be huge because there is a freeway there as well but it is fairly long.

My bicycle currently has only 2 sprockets in the middle section so it doesn't have the low gears of other bikes.
    Also I didn't want to spent a lot of money on a really expensive kit. Also hoping for something that isn't too difficult to install.

What do you think I should look at?
    Last edited by =BicycleRider=; 07-20-2016, 09:45 PM.

You can still pedal most bikes with motors. Some have more resistance than others. All of the kits Luna sells are well over 200w, but many AU riders build with more powrrful kits. There are several excellent gear drive hub motors that can run at 200W and also be run at higher power for more speed. I suggest a forum like www.endless_sphere.com and using AU in your heading to get advise from local riders on what you can get away with or what I'd most popular and reliable in your market.

Comment

Ok thanks, the link didn't work though.