e-bike etiquette. Or...don't be an e-hole

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

e-bike etiquette. Or...don't be an e-hole

At the risk of opening Pandora's box, I thought that it would be good to kick off a discussion around how we ride and mix with pedestrians, traditional bikes (t-bikes) and cars. I am concerned that as e-bikes become more prevalent, that we could find ourselves loosing some of our riding space if we don't Make the right efforts to live in peace with others.

I've been riding my e-bike to work for a couple of months now, and made the following observations.
    --t-bike riders do not like to be passed when fighting their way uphill. Especially if they are young and competitive. No matter how you manage this...It irritates them.
    --When riding my e-bike... I want to go fast... always but not always a good idea. When on a trail that is largely populated by t-bikes, it may be hard to go fast safely.

I talked to a few of my non-bike riding friends and ask what bothered them about bike riders... They said... "I never know if they are going to act like a car, a pedestrian, or a bike", so I am never sure what they are going to do. ..... My response was... Yes, it is true, because bike lanes often just stop...and the road keeps going, or because the bike lane might actually be a dangerous place, and because I am so vulnerable on a bike...I will do whatever I think is safest for me.. Ride in the bike lane, maybe out in the middle of the street like a car, maybe up on the sidewalk.. It is unpredictable. The only things that I can think to do to make this situation better is:
    1) Lobby for more and safer bike lanes that include e-bike access.
    2) Make my directional intentions as clear as possible. I bought a wireless turn signal indicator off of Amazon that works great. Cheaply made, and I doubt that it will last long.. But it does the job well.
    3) Slow down when passing people on T-bikes.