Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Help with battery selection please.

Hello Good Peoples.

First things first.... I am very new to the e-bike world. I actually gave up on bikes many years ago due to my disabilities, but then recently discovered e-bikes. Once I saw what they could do for me I rushed out and bought myself a used recumbent trike (see my profile pic) that had a BMC V3 and Lyen Controller on it. The person I bought the trike from had 8 Turnigy 5S 18.5V 20C - 30C 5000 mah batteries running the system. He had 4 running in Parallel and then those 2 sets running in series for a total of 36 nominal Volts (41V fully charged) and 20,000 mah capacity. I was able to top out at 46Km/h (ran out of room to go any faster) and seem to get approximately 40-75KM run time *depending on how I am pushing the motor, of course*. I loved this and it was great. However, these batteries were old and have since died and my disabilities stop me from being able to save cells and rebuild batteries.

So I am looking to replace these batteries but am not sure what I should get for replacement(s). I know I want more mah as I want to get a further ride ( hoping to go 40,000 or more mah ) from the batteries, but I DO NOT need more Volts as I find it to already be fast enough for me. Many people have told me to get away from 5S batteries as they are not as common as the others and when I take my journey across Canada it might be a bad situation I am in if I fin myself needing a not so common 5S battery replacement. I was told 3S would likely be better for me if I wanted to go down the same style battery route as I would have a far better chance of finding a 3S over a 5S in random bike shops across Canada.

I was also told to keep my C rating as low as possible... Although I do not understand why exactly.....