Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

EBike ADA Access Question

Hello,

I am a disabled Veteran who has a 30% lung reduction due to chemical exposure from disarming bombs. Additionally, I have various other injuries that cause long term standing and running to be very challenging at times. My balance is great, but my strength fades in and out. Due to this I have finally purchased an eMTB after all my local friends pushing me. For the first time in 10 years I am able to ride an entire trail with them. I cannot tell you happy valuable that is to me.

My concern is that local law for natural surface trail was written years ago and appears to prohibit ebikes. It states no motorized vehicles, but doesn't define them. It then states powered wheeled chairs are permitted. It doesn't list any other ADA devices such as segways.

I attain normal mountain bike speeds now. My former boss only has one leg and his ebike permits the same. We both want to ride the trails without bothering anyone and staying legal. I am willing to take the request to our county gov. Does anyone have any pointers or examples of good legislation I can present?

I could just remain quite and continue on as even the rangers stated they don't care about my use. One contradictory point is our local former rail turned trail actually has a pro ebike sign. As long as the ebike meets the usual standards such as only being pedal assist and motor size it is permitted. The sign actually appears to go against the outdated, but still standing laws.

Thank you,

Dave

As far as the law is concerned bikes that fall under the "ebike" classification are not motorized vehicles.

It is basically for internal combustion engines or electric bikes that are so high powered they are closer to a motorcycle, such as the Sur-Ron.

That said, we have seen instances in locations where ebikes are explicitly forbidden that disabled folks got an exception under the ADA.

Comment