Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

looking for thoughts on a modification i want to try...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

looking for thoughts on a modification i want to try...

ok, so apologies if this is hard to understand as i am not that great at explaining half-realized ideas. i also apologize for being a "plz bro" by asking for help when i should do this myself.
    for legal/safety reasons in my area, i am wanting to add a brake light to an e-bike i am building with a bbs02/bbshd (not sure which yet but i dont think it will matter here) and i am planning to modify a very bright tail light, with its own power source, to use a bafang brake sensor as the "switch" to engage it. i have some knowledge on circuitry but to be honest the wiring diagram i need to draw for getting this idea to work is eluding me right now for some reason.
    i am wanting to rig the light to turn on when the motor cuts out and turn off when the motor comes back on. the brake sensor will not power the tail light, only act as a momentary switch to complete the circuit for the light. i just for the life of me cannot remember how to do that (been a long time since i took classes in electronic circuits) and cannot remember what that type of circuit is called i know it has to use a relay of some sort.
    so in summary i need to have an independently powered light to be triggered, not powered, by the same switch as the motor e-brake cutoff without causing any interference with the motor itself and cannot remember what type of circuit i need to make to do that.
    does this make sense?
    or should i just get a window/door alarm reed switch and ziptie it under the brake lever to use the magnet? thats option 2 since it clutters up the bars and they are delicate so it ends up being just one more thing to potentially fail.