Injured and lucky to be alive

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Injured and lucky to be alive

I thought I should share what I went through last month. It was a beautiful Friday afternoon riding my ebike home from work. I was riding in the bike lane and was keeping up with a truck that was forced to slow down due to traffic and it made a rapid right turn into the driveway immediately in front of me. I applied my rear brake, knowing this wouldn't be enough stopping power I gently but quickly applied slight front braking which immediately threw me off the bike and underneath the truck in front of me. I recall waiting for the back tire to run me over as I was being crushed under the truck only to see and hear the truck skid to a halt. I immediately pulled myself out from under the truck and collapsed waiting for the ambulance.
    I had been riding every day through rain and snow for the past three years and had been systematically improving my safety by risk mitigation, using alternate safer routes, buying safety equipment etc. . . None of this protected me from my moment of carelessness where I should have known there was a risk.

Lessons learned, my speed was clearly a factor here. Once my wrist fracture heals and if I ride again, I haven't decided, I will set a speed maximum in my computer. I will treat bicycle lanes as more dangerous than previously thought. In fact, I think bike lanes are more dangerous than riding in traffic.

I'm still dealing with the haunting memory of being beneath the truck awaiting my crushing death. I share in hopes others will adjust their behavior as they see fit.
    Last edited by joelHFX; 09-20-2019, 11:31 AM.

Glad you made it out alive!

Comment

I have been hurt worse on my bike then 20 years of snowboarding, decades of mountain off airport flying in my planes, even teaching myself to fly hang gliders and ultralights before that didn't hurt as much. I pay much more attention now when I ride, it's serious business!