Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

What do you think about this ladies bike for conversion?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

What do you think about this ladies bike for conversion?

Hello,

I want to add a motor to my older Trek aluminum frame cruise . Frame size is 16.5", which Trek classifies as small. 35mm bracket diameter, and 73mm width. I have no experience building e bike, so wondering if you all can eyeball this frame and say whether it looks doable. Would probably mount battery on rear rack. I can get help with the install and am pretty good at learning from youtube, etc. It is not a $$ issue, would just like to keep this bike relevant. Linda

Hi, and welcome to the forum. I've got a few questions for you that may help us help you better:
    1. You list your location(s) as "Florida beach ; North Carolina mountains", which are somewhat contradictory with regards to the bike's overall gearing - is the one or the other location you'd generally more like the bike's gearing tuned to?
    2. This is a roughly 10-12 year old bike, is this correct? You may need new tires, brake pads and the like.
    3. You wrote, "It is not a $$ issue", but I'm guessing you have a rough figure you'd like not to, or doesn't make sense to exceed - $500, $1000?
    4. Have you read anything yet about the most common add-on e-bike motor types, "mid" versus "hub" (or wheel) motors - if so, have you a preference? Generally, hub motors are better on flat terrain, for steep terrains mid-drive is usually considered more preferable.
    5. How far / fast do you want to go, hauling how much weight (yup, had to ask)?
    6. Do you want the bike to do all the work, or do you just want it to help you on hills or after a long ride?
    7. You mentioned "help", do they have any bicycle specific tools - as in, a pair of pliers won't cut it.