Tadpole recumbents

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Tadpole recumbents

Hi folks, new to the neighborhood here. I have ridden all my life but last month bought my dream bike, a 2002 Greenspeed GTO tadpole recumbent. She's a beauty. I want to power her with the Cyclone 3000 and build my own battery pack. I have some experience in both but would surely welcome ANY advice from you folks that have been there and done that! My basic idea was to utilize the ample room behind the seat for the motor (direct drive to rear hub) and put my battery pack in the same area, keeping it as low as possible so I don't mess with my GTO's excellent low center of gravity. For those of you that aren't familiar with this trike, it has a large "S & S" coupling in the middle of the main frame which allows you to break this fine machine down to fit into two large suitcases, suitable for airline travel anywhere in the world! It was exactly the one I wanted and the price was outstanding. Sooooo, my thinking here was to try and mount it with the same ease as the rest of the bike for disassembly, if that is even possible. I have researched the Cyclone extensively and totally understand that it can be a bit of a loose cannon. That's exactly why I want it! There is very little hands on information for a high powered diy recumbent available on the net, and I would really like to avoid costly or time eating mistakes, so I eagerly place my fate in your hands! Good or bad guys, I can take it. Am I expecting too much? Is this too much power for this machine? I will await any input at all from this groups vast wealth of knowledge! Respectfully, Charles

"too much power?" is that rhetorical question? There is a member that claims they are sold out everywhere. Not the easiest to install but looks like you get your moneys worth.

Comment

Originally posted by chaswalk View Post