First Cargo Bike Build: advice welcome!

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

First Cargo Bike Build: advice welcome!

Hi everyone, first time poster here, thanks in advance for any comments or suggestions! Like most newbs on here, I’ve done a lot of research but the questions just keep coming!

I am building an xtracycle free radical “long tail” conversion on an old favorite mountain bike that I hope to use for commuting and kid hauling. I am about to pull the trigger on Luna’s BBSHD mid drive kit with a 48v 17.5ah battery, UNLESS one of you has a better suggestion!

My commute is about 22 miles each way, and I ride it regularly on my regular bike (human power). I am an avid cyclist and enjoy the commute, but recently I’ve needed to carry a lot more weight, hence the cargo bike conversion.
    I also have two kids that can fit on the “hooptie” child carrier kit, so I’m hoping to leave the car parked for errands and shopping, etc.

I have lots of experience as a bike mechanic, but zero ebike experience. I do not care about top speed at all, what I really want is RANGE! We live at the west end of the John Wayne trail, a rails-to-trails project that crosses our entire state. My dream ride would be to take my cargo bike with camping gear and maybe a kid or two, ride up and over Snoqualmie pass (about 40 miles), campout, and then ride back down to my house, without charging the battery. I plan to ride the bike “unassisted” whenever possible in order to save juice.

Am I looking at the right battery, or should I spring for the massive 23.5ah version? Any comments are super appreciated. Excited to join the community, you guys are very generous with the knowledge and I’ve already learned a ton!

Hello, and welcome!

I grew up in the Pacific Northwest--you have a lot to enjoy on your rides, that's for sure.

I suggest you just get the biggest battery you can reasonably afford.