First e-bike build

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

First e-bike build

Hi everyone, im new to electric bicycles but i recently returned from a vacation in Venice beach where they had powerful 16 mph scooters available to rent for $1+ 0.15/min and i loved it. I want to create a bike powered by a rear hub motor and 28x 28650 batteries at about 52v. I have bought nothing at all just yet, i want to make sure i don't regret my purchase within weeks. I was hoping since the people on here are presumably far more experienced than me, that i can learn from a few peoples mistakes and save myself the unfinished project.

my list so far is:
    https://www.ebay.com/itm/IMax-B6-Dig...0/252047704675
    https://www.ebay.com/itm/26-1500W-Re...g/322269304808
    https://www.ebay.com/itm/Lithium-Bat...V/282802860786
    https://www.aliexpress.com/item/6pcs...30453c00EmYmok
    https://vruzend.com/product/vruzend_basic_kit/

My two cents worth:

The motor
    • That one is quite a powerful direct drive rear hub motor. It may be more power than you need.

The battery solution:
    • If it were my 1st build I would not be building my own pack as you plan. I don't think you save a lot of money doing it that way and you may not get the result you want.
    • I would be buying a quality pack capable of delivering up to 30amps continuous if you want to drive that motor to its capability.
    • If you do ahead with the BYO battery:
      • Those are not 28650 cells; they are 18650 cells. I have never heard of that brand so have no idea of the quality.
      • That charger you point to would make charging very clumsy as you would have to charge groups of cells separately. You want a bulk charger to charge the whole pack through the BMS. (Most prebuilt packs come with a charger.)
      • Are you sure the Vruzend kit can handle 30 amps discharge?

Comment