Tektro Dorado compatibility

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Tektro Dorado compatibility

Hi, I am new to ebikes and stupidly decided to build my own. I bought a bunch of stuff and nothing fits...
    I bought Tektro Dorado ebike brakes, front and rear and a cheap ebikeling front hub kit. The calipers do not fit between the hub and disc.

So my question is:
    What front motor will the tektro dorados fit on?

How much space do you need? Most front forks are steel so maybe you could spread them a little and space the rotor out.

Comment

Sorry, I didnt explain myself well
      The hub fits in the fork ok. The problem is the motor does not have proper clearance for calipers.

The motor has clearance for 16mm calipers. The tektro Dorado need about 20mm clearance. The area from the brake disc to the hub motor case.

Comment

Yeah so like I said space out the rotor 4mm. This will give you the clearance but you may also have to dish the rim and/or change your dropout width.

Comment

If I add 4mm more spacers I wont even be able to get the axle in the dropouts because the rotor would be too far over. I would have to grind 4mm off the dropout if I added 4mm spacers to the rotor.

Comment

Originally posted by calfee20 View Post
            How much space do you need? Most front forks are steel so maybe you could spread them a little and space the rotor out.
            When I said spread maybe I should have said bend. Space out the rotor 4mm then put 4mm of washers on each side of the motor's axle. Spread/bend your dropouts open 8mm. That is only 5/16th of an inch. If you don't like the way that sounds buy a new front fork that is wider. This member near you has a fork for sale. http://electricbike.com/forum/forum/...ened-10mm-used

Comment

Originally posted by calfee20 View Post