Error 30 apparently it's the dreaded error 30

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Error 30 apparently it's the dreaded error 30

What I know is I get Err 30 on the display (C961) connecting to my Luna BBS02 with upgraded controller. I had added an extension cable for the display. That extension cable is a high suspect since I had altered it by adding 3 inches in the middle. I took that extension out of the system (perhaps too late) and got the same error. I tested with an extra main harness that is brand new and got the same error. Also, I can't connect with the programming cable using either harness. So no contact with the controler. The bike had run properly for four short rides 1 - 2 miles each with the suspect cable.

I am a newbie so I don't know how tough the BBS02 is but I don't think it was being abused. Running only 20 amps I was going up a gentle incline (3-5 degree) in a high gear but only after ascending through the lower gears and we were going over 20mph. I felt the motor housing right after and I figure it was about 120 - 130. It was hot but not so much I couldn't keep touching. The battery was not warm at all. I checked the voltage on the battery when I got home 52.6 * 20 = 1052 watts

Also it had rained light and brief early in the ride but was dry when it cut out.

Since I can't get through to the controller, I am afraid it's dead.

My ideas on how this happened:

1. My soldered extended cable might have shorted out the controler
    2. I cooked the controller riding uphill with 1052 watts
    3. Got rain water in a critical joint and shorted
    4. I don't know what I'm talking about and there is some other reason I don't know about and have not tested for.

Does anyone have more troubleshooting ideas or thoughts? I don't want to have to buy and install a new controller but I will. While I have the case open, I'll install one of those temperature probe thingys.

It sounds like the controller to me.
    How big is your chain ring?