Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

bike issue with all 5 new bikes

Hi everyone,
    I am new to the e bike scene and just bought 5 bikes from China. Don't want to call out the manufacture because I am still trying to get them to help with this issue. All 5 bikes were bought at the same time and all have the exact same issue. They are also new, fresh out f the box. They are 48 volt with a 1000w motor. checked the batter voltage and they are all 52.4 volts. Opened the controller storage box and the controller states that is for a 48 volt 1000w system (see picture). The battery is an LG 48 volt 14.5 Ah Li-ion

This is the problem, when using the thumb throttle, the bikes will move about 1-5 feet under power then shut off no matter how much throttle you give it. They also as a slight shutter when first taking off. When you ride them under assist mode the power comes on and off. The screen is a XT-LCD W108 (see picture). It shows not codes or signs of anything going wrong. If I lift the rear wheel off the ground the wheel spins under power just fine. Spins up to about 28 MPH.

Any help with guiding me in the right direction would be greatly appreciated.

Bill

Probably overcurrent on the battery BMS, i.e. they cheaped out and went with batteries that cannot meet the discharge rate. That would be assuming these are fully charged, battery is not frozen or something like that to the point where it has some huge amount of sag. If you see sag without it being frozen then they cheaped out with knockoff cells instead (very likely as this is the most expensive part of the ebike, and easily faked by an overseas supplier with little accountability)

The right direction would be to buy from an American company instead of gambling on China-direct. Probably not what you want to hear but it's the plain truth.