Brand new freewheel not freewheeling? - 12T for a MY1018

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Brand new freewheel not freewheeling? - 12T for a MY1018

I'm new to freewheel parts. Hopefully someone here has experience with them. I recently received a 12T Freewheel for a MY1018 from China (of course), but it doesn't freewheel; it's locked in both directions. When I received it 8 days ago I was so happy to finally get it after many weeks of waiting that I gave the seller positive feedback before installing it. Today when getting ready to install it, I discovered it doesn't freewheel. It just moves a slight amount in each direction before locking up. I have a video, but can't upload an AVI file here.

Anyone have an idea what would cause this internally? This 12T Freewheel is brand new and never used; hasn't even had a chain on it yet.

I've contacted the seller to see if he will send out another one after already giving positive feedback, but it's China so it is anybody's guess if he will honor delivering a good working product once the option to file a "item not as described" has been negated by leaving positive feedback.
    Last edited by Rider; 01-21-2018, 10:29 AM.
    MOVING BACK TO PEDAL...
    2020 Banshee Paradox V3 1x11 (pedal)
    2018 Soma Wolverine 3spd IGH Belt Drive (pedal)

Can you hear anything rattling inside? One guy on amazon says it's junk.
    Amazon.com : 12 Teeth Bicycle Chain Sprocket For Electric Bike Motor MY1016Z 12T Flywheel For MY1018 Customized Mid-drive Motor 12T Freewheel : Sports & Outdoors

Comment

Originally posted by Rider View Post
      ...I have a video, but can't upload an AVI file here...
      You can upload the file to YouTube and post the link here.

Comment

• Rider
        Rider commented
        Editing a comment
        Don't use YouTube. Not really needed anyway. The freewheel simply doesn't freewheel.

Originally posted by max_volt View Post