Can't get battery to charge

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Can't get battery to charge

I am new to all the battery stuff, so excuse my ignorance. I have done some research online. I have a 52V dolphin pack that will not charge. I have taken out the BMS and it still wont charge. I have a 52V advanced 300W Luna charger. Everything was fine until I came in from a snowy fat bike ride with a depleted battery. I got a flat and rode till the BMS cut out. The battery wouldn't charge. I took the case off and disconnected the BMS and tried to charge through the output port. The charger says 58.7V and my multimeter says 58.8V. 2 days ago when this happen the battery was approx. 48V. I have since cut out the BMS totally. Right now the battery 45.5 at the cells. When I put the charger on, the voltage is 58.8 or 9 at the cells, but the standing charge never goes up. I tried 2 days ago for hours during my Eagles loss to the Saints and the standing voltage never went up. The charger never comes on to show current and the fan doesn't kick on, but when I do the incandescent load thing, it works fine. Maybe the charger is good? So from what I read and can see, I have 4P-14S and 7 sets of wires that went to the BMS. All the sets show 3.7 or 3.8V except one which shows 2.5V. So it seems I have a bad group. I just don't understand why it won't charge. If there's a differential, there must be current flow, right? Why does the bad cells stop the charger from coming on. I'll do more testing, but I think the charger is good and I need to cut out some of the cells. Any direction would be appreciated?

New info.. I plugged it all in to confirm my voltage before I sent this and the standing voltage rose to 48 and the bad group of cells is .4 now. I guess that settles it. I can have a 48V pack.

Any chance you guys at Luna have any more dolphin packs? I know they're not on the website, but I got three builds with their brackets and I'd like to ride before I get this fixed.