Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Controlled fried?

Hello,
    I'm very new to all this so please bear with me..
    Yesterday as I was leaving work, my 3 phase hub motor spun out of the bike's dropouts. The motor cable got twisted around the axle, and now the bike won't go anywhere. I tested the phase wire running out of the motor, and they all show low resistance. So I'm guess they're not the issue.
    Unfortunately when I tested the hall wires (black and red), a reading of 0V was returned. Fried controlled? Or the motor? Or both?
    My LCD3 also shows that the battery is totally drained, even though it's fully charged..
    Any help is much appreciated!
    Cheers

Sorry, seems I posted twice..

Comment

Perhaps tore out the phase wires? Broken conductors, but ok controller? Remove, strip wiring, or get to both ends, and check continuity, however is appropriate for the parts at hand.

Best guess for something to look for, before scrapping it.

Good luck.
      Fabrication is fun! Build something today. Show someone. Let them help. Inspire and share. Spread the desire.

Comment

Originally posted by JPLabs View Post
        Perhaps tore out the phase wires? Broken conductors, but ok controller? Remove, strip wiring, or get to both ends, and check continuity, however is appropriate for the parts at hand.

Best guess for something to look for, before scrapping it.

Good luck.
        Well the phase wires seem to be OK, since they returned a low resistance when I tested them (a high resistance would indicate broken wires apparently).

Comment

Just received my brand new $4000 Sur-Ron X. It was DOA. Bike will not run but for a few minutes. Luna has told me to stand in line and they will get to my problem when they have time. Has anyone else had issues with a brand new Sur-Ron X that quickly drops voltage to the point it will not operate? Thanks..